The bottom line: Is Whiskey Gluten-Free?
Whiskey is a type of distilled alcohol commonly made from a fermented, gluten-containing grain mash.
Due to the distillation process, many experts argue that all whiskey is gluten-free.
However, some people may still react to these beverages, as there’s no guarantee that 100% of the gluten is removed through distillation.
Plus, some versions, especially flavored ones, have ingredients that may contain gluten or be cross-contaminated added to them after distillation.
The only way to guarantee your whiskey is free from gluten is to purchase a product made from 100% gluten-free grains, such as corn, millet, or sorghum.
And remember, regardless of which type of whiskey you choose to drink, enjoy it in moderation. Stick to the recommendations and don’t exceed one standard drink per day for women and two for men.