Healthy Living: How to find gluten-free beer
As Gluten-free beer is increasing in popularity.
Ask your local beer vendor to show you their selection of gluten-free beer, then make sure you’re buying the right product by reading the packaging carefully.
Look for phrases or symbols indicating the product is gluten-free. Keep in mind that labeling standards vary by country.
If it’s not clear whether your beer of choice contains gluten, it may be beneficial to contact the manufacturer directly or choose a different variety with straightforward labeling.
Alternatively, consider opting for wine or distilled liquors, as these are typically gluten-free.
However, keep in mind that products vary. Regardless of the beverage you choose, it’s best to examine the label carefully.
To make sure you’re buying gluten-free beer, carefully read the packaging for regulated phrases or symbols that indicate the product is gluten-free. Many brands will say this explicitly on the label.
Most beer contains gluten, as it’s traditionally brewed using gluten-containing grains usually barley, wheat, or rye.
There are plenty of gluten-free options. Several varieties are made using gluten-free grains, and many breweries are dedicated gluten-free facilities.
Since most countries abide by strict labeling standards, varieties that bear a regulated gluten-free label are likely safe for individuals with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity.