Common non-vegan Ingredients You need to Know
Many but certainly not all alcoholic beverages are vegan.
Animal products may be used during processing or as ingredients in the drink itself.
For example, animal-derived foods are often used as fining agents, which are substances that help filter out impurities and improve the clarity, flavor, and aroma of alcoholic beverages.
Here are some common non-vegan ingredients and fining agents used in alcohol:
Milk and cream. These dairy products are sometimes added to beer and liqueurs to give a creamy, rich flavor.
They’re also used in many cocktails and blended drinks.
Whey, casein, and lactose. These milk byproducts are occasionally used as ingredients or fining agents.
Honey. Honey is fermented to make mead and used as a sweetener in other alcoholic beverages.
Eggs. Egg white protein, also known as albumin, is often used as a fining agent in wine. Eggs are also added to some cocktails.
Isinglass. This popular fining agent is derived from fish bladders.
Gelatin. Gelatin is not only used to make jello, puddings, and gravies but also commonly serves as a fining agent. Notably, it’s derived from animal skin, bones, and cartilage.
Cochineal and carmine. Carmine, a red dye made out of scaly insects called cochineal, is added to some alcoholic beverages for color .
Chitin. Chitin is a fiber used as a fining agent. Though vegan versions exist, it’s often a byproduct of insects or shellfish.