Before You Eat Ketchup
Ketchup is one of the most popular condiments in the world and a staple in American households.
Whether it’s spread on your favorite sandwich or served alongside a burger and fries, you’re sure to find the bright red condiment in most restaurants and diners.
Still, you may wonder whether it fits a gluten-free lifestyle.
Gluten is a group of proteins found in certain cereals, including wheat, barley, and rye. It’s responsible for giving elasticity to baked goods.
Most ketchup is naturally gluten-free, as none of these grains are used in its preparation, and as long as it’s made with distilled vinegar.
However, gluten may be occasionally found in dressings and sauces, including ketchup, when stabilizing agents are used to give them a thicker consistency.
Additionally, there’s a risk of contamination if ketchup is produced in a facility that manufactures other gluten-containing products.
Ketchup is naturally gluten-free as long as it’s made with distilled vinegar. However, the use of stabilizing agents or the production of other glutenous foods may contaminate it.
Ketchup doesn’t contain wheat, barley, or rye. As such, it’s a naturally gluten-free product.
However, some brands may use wheat-derived vinegar or produce their ketchup in a facility that manufactures other gluten-containing foods, which may contaminate it.
Look for a gluten-free label or check the ingredient list and allergen claims to make sure your favorite ketchup is gluten-free.
Note that although ketchup may be free of gluten, it’s often high in added sugars and should, therefore, be consumed in moderation.