Is Honey Gluten-Free?
Honey is a sweet, syrupy liquid made by honeybees. Many people enjoy it on bread, in tea, or as a sweetener.
With so many varieties of honey on the market, you may wonder whether all forms are safe to eat if you avoid gluten for health or personal reasons.
Honey starts as flower nectar collected by honeybees.
The bees then repeatedly consume, digest, and regurgitate the nectar inside the beehive to produce honey.
They then drop the honey into the hexagonal beeswax comb and repeat this process until the comb is full.
Once the comb is full, the bees cap the comb with wax. It’s then collected by beekeepers for honey extraction.
The type of honey varies based on the plant source, extraction method, and how the honey has been processed or preserved.
Although the nutritional content varies based on the type of honey, 1 tablespoon (21 grams) of honey generally provides 64 calories and 17 grams of carbs and offers virtually no protein, fiber, or fat.
It contains only trace amounts of various micronutrients but is a concentrated source of beneficial plant compounds and antioxidants.
Honey is produced by honeybees from the nectar of flowering plants. It’s a sweet substance that’s rich in carbs and powerful antioxidants.
Honey is naturally gluten-free.
Still, some specialty flavored honeys or honey-based products may include gluten-containing ingredients.
Honey may also become cross-contaminated with gluten if it’s manufactured in a facility that also processes gluten-containing foods.
If you have celiac disease or a gluten sensitivity, closely reading the label or buying certified gluten-free products is always a good idea to avoid unknowingly ingesting gluten.